MCTS and MCPD Exams

So recently I just tested for my Microsoft MCTS & MCPD Exams. These exams have been said to be much more technical and difficult than the previous Microsoft Certifications. I found that cramming for the exams (for me) was the best way for me to pass. With such a young family it would make it difficult for me to study over a months time for an exam and then take it. Each MCTS exam depends heavily on the base exam for the MCTS (70-536) Application Foundation Exam. After you get this behemoth complete, you shoot for the Web, Windows or Distributed Exam. Each one you complete gives you a full certification. I completed each of these and then attempted to take the next exam … MCPD EAD. This test seemed to be geared toward guessing the Microsoft answer. I did not pass this one on my first try. It took some additional studying, but the retake proved to be successful.

Microsoft sends you a nice Welcome Kit for the MCPD and MCTS certifications. You also have rights to create your own Logo’s and post your transcript (I have done that for my blog). The transcript page is to prove to your employer or other companies that you truly have the certifications you claim. Way to many people lie in resumes, and this would be an easy thing for an employer to verify.

You can verify transcripts by going to the following and entering a Transcript ID and Password. My transcript can be found with the below information:

https://mcp.microsoft.com/authenticate/validatemcp.aspx

Transcript ID: 777098
Password: you will need to ask me for that

I am glad that I have accomplished the task of becoming Microsoft Certified. Stats show that it makes a difference in an individuals net worth, and it will be interesting to see if this is true. As for my current employment … they have been nothing but great to me.

2 Responses

  1. Do you have any thoughts about the value of going to a certification boot camp (CED Solutions specifically) to prepare for the MCTS/MCPD?

    Their website states that during the 14 day training you will take all 7 exams – that sounds very optimistic to me…

    Thanks in advance for any opinion you have to share.

    Rick

    • Yes and No. Yes if you have money to put into it, but I would prefer 1 semester of College vs. the Bootcamp. If your comany is willing to flip the bill and pay your salary and hotel and travel expences, then yes. It will expose you to a lot of features that the .NET framework has. The tests were difficult and took a lot of preperation. I do not have any recommendations for what company to go with. I used Trainning Camp, and liked it. The course was very fast paced and was a straight 14 days studying from 7am – midnight almost everynight. Just note that if your company pays for you to go, then it is important to get the certifications (all of them), and then commit time to the company so they can get their money back from sending you.

      As far as it goes for me, I thought that is was very beneficial! I was exposed to many new features of .NET that I was not familiar with. I was a windows forms guy, so I learned more about ASP .NET and then more about classes that I was not familiar with, so it broadened my knowledge.

      The only thing better than the exams is to work in an environment with tallented people and work as a team to learn from eachother. It is amazing what you can learn by watching others code or by doing code reviews.

      Hope this helps.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

